X
    X
    X
    X

    Overview

    Printer Friendly Version

    洛克律師事務所各業務組律師爲食品、飲料和化妝品行業提供服務的歷史已有數十年之久。從穀物種子到餐飲業,洛克對該行業的所有方面都有豐富經驗。我們代理的客戶包括供應商、生産商、批發商、經銷商、零售商。我們的律師爲從事食品和農業産業(包括木材、乳製品、植物産品、漁業、柑橘、食品加工、食品零售、苗圃、牲畜、蔓越莓、中耕作物等)的公司提供法律意見和諮詢服務。我們是飲食業客戶值得信任的顧問,瞭解客戶産品、客戶商譽重要性及其未來盈利面臨風險,我們以此爲傲。

    監管事宜
    我們爲生産商、供應商、批發商、經銷商、零售商及其他行業交易方提供合規建議和游說服務,也在各種類型的訴訟中代表他們。我們曾處理多起涉及美國食品藥品監督管理局、美國消費品安全委員會、美國農業部、商務及經濟機會部門、聯邦貿易委員會等各個州級與地方監管部門的事宜。洛克律師深諳商業和政府的交集點,是幫助客戶在各級政府部門所創造的常具挑戰性的經營環境中生存的技藝純熟的導航員。

    産品召回
    我們曾代表生産商、零售商、分銷商在全國範圍內召回食品和飲料産品以及就召回事宜協調溝通。當供應鏈發生問題時,我們豐富的産品責任經驗使我們能就根本原因分析、文件備辦以及産品可追溯性等問題提供有價值的協助。我們的工作包括信息收集、産品/加工文件審核、進行員工面談等。我們所具備的産品責任經驗還使我們能有效地起草和評審警告標志、産品指示、用戶手册、産品介紹和保修文件。

    消費者欺詐集體訴訟
    食品和飲料行業面臨著大量集體訴訟的圍堵,索賠方提出的索賠五花八門。無論此等訴訟涉及的是所謂:
    • 自然産品
    • 手工産品
    • 有機産品
    • 小批量産品
    • 美國(或特定州)製造産品
    • 非轉基因産品
    或類似訴由,洛克律師對處理這類訴訟均有豐富經驗。洛克的集體訴訟律師熟諳大型集體訴訟涉及的策略性决策,包括多地管轄事宜管理。我們在考慮客戶最重要問題的基礎上制定策略,而不一定是“不計一切代價取得勝訴”。但如采取“不計一切代價取得勝訴”的策略,我們將爲客戶取得期望的結果。

    知識産權
    我們爲專利、商標、版權、商業秘密和相關反壟斷事宜等涉及的所有商業方面的問題提供意見。洛克的許多律師都有在工商行業作爲科學家和工程師的多年執業經驗。我們在種業和農業生物科技業也有相關具體經驗,所代表的客戶包括生物科技性狀提供商、種子生産商、種子經銷商、種子分銷商、種子認證機關、植物多樣性保護證書持有者、專利持有人、種子商錯誤疏漏專業責任保險人、種子認證機關和種子協會錯誤疏漏專業責任保險人。

    企業與交易
    我們集合了各個業務領域團隊,他們擁有指導飲食業客戶度過合幷、收購、資産剝離、債務融資、股權投資或其他諸如合營、杠杆收購和分拆等策略性交易所必需的廣泛經驗和能力。我們就交易涉及的各個方面的問題爲客戶提供法律意見,包括結構性、監管性、證券、稅務、效益、雇傭、企業治理和反壟斷事宜。

    反壟斷諮詢和訴訟
    洛克的專業反壟斷律師團隊在爲食品和飲料公司提供各種反壟斷和競爭事宜的法律意見上具有豐富經驗。我們針對食品和飲料業提供具體的反壟斷諮詢服務,確保其政策、程序和一致性協定齊備、有效。我們在處理基于《謝爾曼法》、《克萊頓反托拉斯法》、《聯邦貿易委員會法》和《羅賓遜帕特曼法》以及其他違背反托拉斯法的民事或刑事違法行爲提起的訴訟上同樣經驗豐富。

    勞動爭議問題諮詢和訴訟
    洛克律師經常處理雇主面對的各種問題,包括美國50個州的聯邦和地方勞動法律。我們也就産品召回和工廠關閉相關的勞動問題提供諮詢服務,處理相關訴訟。

    代表食品和飲料業客戶的案例:
    • 爲數家全國和地區連鎖餐廳就其特許加盟協議和相關事宜提供法律意見。
    • 引領一家地區食品生産商進行策略分析幷就一份難以負擔的雙方同意的判决與司法部重新協商。
    • 作爲一家生鮮食品生産商和分銷商的外聘顧問。
    • 協助美國國內最大的乳製品農場主合作社收購大量乳製品加工商,爲他們取得監管批准及此後從該等乳製品加工商撤資。
    • 爲美國國家食品與農業政策中心處理各種政府關係、游說工作。
    • 就一家農業合作社收購一家擁有26個場地的農藝企業的事宜進行協調和協商,幷就將其中18個場地轉讓給合作社成員進行協調。
    • 代表客戶對基于農藥阿特拉津污染提起的多宗集體訴訟進行抗辯。
    • 作爲减肥食品生産商投資方及其公司分銷商的外聘總法律顧問,主要處理知識産權問題。
    • 爲美國某最大的連鎖超市就産品召回問題提供法律意見。
    • 代表美國東海岸某最大的水産公司,另爲一家外資創業公司的魚類産品分銷業務提供法律服務。
    • 爲一家從事防止植物、植物産品和動物真菌感染産品的科學和商業研發的公司就多起風險資本融資交易以及知識産權/專利保護提供法律意見。
    • 爲一家食品包裝生産商就産品召回事宜以及與聲稱嬰兒奶粉污染相關的訴訟威脅提供法律諮詢服務。
    • 代表一家區域連鎖超市的小股東,包括爲其重新協商特許文件和股東協議,成功要約幷出售該區域連鎖超市給一家國際超市運營商。
    • 代表一家全國咖啡特許加盟店處理各種特許經營、企業事務、商標、雇傭和訴訟相關的事宜。
    • 爲零食業客戶制定全國分銷計劃幷製備文件。
    • 以存貨、帳目、蛤蜊配額和漁船以及許可證作爲擔保,構建循環信用證,爲漁業作業獲取融資。
    • 以全部資産(包括多片蔓越莓田)作爲擔保,爲一家蔓越莓生産商取得貸款重組。
    • 以位于紐約、賓夕法尼亞、新澤西、康涅狄格、南加利福尼亞、弗羅裏達和魁北克的不動産作爲擔保,爲一家跨州苗圃和溫室運營商取得貸款重組。
    • 代表一家奶/乳製品公司處理訴訟事宜。

    如需有關烈酒行業現面臨的關鍵問題的詳細解釋,請查閱洛克發行的相關手册《水深火熱之中的烈酒行業:集體訴訟必知

    Find Professionals

    Find News, Events, Notable Matters and More
    SEARCH

    Showing Results for

    06e097cb-c375-4779-a7a5-f7bb42489541

    Disclaimer

    Please understand that your communications with Locke Lord LLP through this website do not constitute or create an attorney-client relationship with Locke Lord LLP. Any information you send to Locke Lord LLP through this website is on a non-confidential and non-privileged basis. Therefore, do not send or include any information in your email that you consider to be confidential or privileged.

X
    X
    X
    X

    Overview

    Printer Friendly Version

    Locke Lord lawyers from practice groups across the Firm have been serving the food, beverage and agricultural industries for decades. We have experience with virtually all facets of the industry, from the seeds from which grains are grown to the restaurant business. We represent suppliers, manufacturers, wholesalers, dealers, and retailers. Our lawyers provide advice and counsel to companies engaged in the food and agriculture business, in segments such as timber, dairy, plant products, fishing, citrus, food processing, food retail, nurseries, livestock, cranberries, and row crops. We act as trusted advisors to the food and beverage industry and pride ourselves on understanding our clients' products, the importance of their reputation and the risk to future revenue.

    Regulatory Matters

    We represent manufacturers, suppliers, wholesalers, dealers, and retailers and industry participants in transactions, the provision of regulatory compliance advice and lobbying services, and in all manner of litigation. We have worked on matters involving the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Consumer Product Safety Commission, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and various state and local regulatory agencies. Our lawyers understand the intersections of business and government and are skilled navigators of the often challenging operating environment created by all levels of government.

    Product Recalls

    We have conducted national recalls on food and beverage products on behalf of manufacturers, retailers and distributors and in that regard, have coordinated communications with respect to the recall. When a problem does arise in the supply chain, our vast product liability experience permits us to provide valuable assistance in root cause analyses and documentation as well as on product traceability issues. Our work has involved gathering information, reviewing production/processing documentation, and conducting employee interviews. Our product liability experience permits us to effectively draft and evaluate warning labels, product instructions, owner manuals, product literature, and warranty documents.

    Corporate & Transactional

    We assemble interdisciplinary teams with the breadth and depth of experience and capabilities necessary to guide our food and beverage clients through any merger, acquisition, divestiture, debt financing, equity investment or other strategic transaction such as a joint venture, leveraged buyout and spin-off. We advise our clients on all aspects of a transaction including structural, regulatory, securities, tax, benefits, employment, corporate governance and antitrust issues.

    Consumer Fraud Class Actions

    The food and beverage industry is under siege by plaintiffs' class action lawyers, whose creativity in creating claims knows no bounds. Whether the claims relate to products described as:

    • Natural
    • Handmade
    • Organic
    • Small Batch
    • Made in the USA (or a particular state)
    • GMO Free

    or similar claims, our lawyers have experience in resolving such claims. Our class action litigators are well-versed in the strategic decision making that major class action litigation involves, including the management of multi-jurisdictional matters. We have significant experience in developing a strategy that takes into account our clients' most important concerns, which may not always be "win at all costs." But when the strategy is "win at all costs," we provide our clients with a desired outcome.

    Intellectual Property

    We advise on all business aspects of patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets and related antitrust issues. Many of our practitioners have years of practical experience as scientists and engineers in industry and commerce. We have specific experience relating to the seed and agricultural biotechnology industries, and have represented biotechnology trait providers, seed producers, seed dealers, seed distributors, seed certification agencies, plant variety protection certificate holders, patent holders, seedsmen's errors and omissions insurers, and seed certification agencies and seed association's errors and omissions insurers.

    Antitrust Counseling & Litigation

    Locke Lord’s team of dedicated Antitrust lawyers have experience advising food and beverage companies on a variety of antitrust and competition issues. We provide food and beverage industry specific antitrust counseling to ensure policies, procedures, and compliance protocols are in place and effective. We also have broad, deep experience in litigating Sherman Act, Clayton Act, FTC Act, and Robinson-Patman Act issues as well as other civil and criminal antitrust violations.

    Labor Issue Counseling & Litigation

    Our lawyers regularly handle all manner of issues facing employers including federal and local employment laws in all 50 states. We have provided counseling on labor issues related to recalls and factory shuts downs, as well as handling any related litigation.

    Examples of our work on behalf of food and beverage clients include:

    • Acting as outside general counsel to the International Foodservice Manufacturers Association.
    • Defending numerous food and beverage product liability cases including taking cases to trial.
    • Providing regulatory counseling concerning all manner of issues related to the FDA and the USDA.
    • Providing regulatory counseling concerning labeling and claims.
    • Drafting and filing citizen petition requesting that the FDA allow food companies to label potassium chloride by its alternative common and usual name potassium salt
    • Counseling a major food processing equipment manufacturer on product liability issues for more than five decades.
    • Advising national and regional restaurant chains on their franchise agreements and related matters.
    • Spearheading a regional food manufacturer’s strategic analysis and renegotiation of a burdensome consent decree with the Department of Justice.
    • Assisting the nation’s largest dairy farmers’ cooperative to acquire, obtain regulatory approvals for, and subsequently divest numerous dairy processors.
    • Handling all manner of government relations and lobbying work for the National Association of Agriculture and Food Policy.
    • Coordinating and negotiating acquisition of a 26-site agronomy business for an agricultural cooperative and coordinated the conveyance of 18 of the sites to member cooperatives.
    • Defending class actions regarding claimed contamination from the agricultural chemical atrazine.
    • Assisting with the acquisition of sixty different parcels and bank financing of seller’s agronomy and seed business.
    • Acting as outside general counsel for inventor of diet food product manufacturer and distributor for his companies, primarily involving intellectual property issues.
    • Counseling one of the largest U.S. supermarket chains on product recall issues.
    • Representing one of the largest fish companies on the East Coast and also worked with a foreign owned start-up company in the fish distribution business.
    • Advising on multiple venture capital financings and intellectual property/patent protection, for a company engaged in scientific and commercial development of products for preventing fungal infections in plants, plant products, and animals.
    • Counseling a food packaging manufacturer on product recall issues and litigation threats related to the alleged contamination of baby formula.
    • Representing the minority stockholders of a multi-store regional supermarket chain, including renegotiation of charter documents and stockholder agreements, as well as the successful offering and sale of the chain to an international supermarket operator.
    • Representing a national café franchise in all manner of franchising, corporate, trademark, employment and litigation work.
    • Developing a national distribution plan and documentation for client in the snack food industry.
    • Structuring a revolving credit to finance fishing operations, secured by inventory, accounts, clam allocations and fishing vessels and permits.
    • Restructuring loans to a multi-state nursery and greenhouse operator, secured by real estate in New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Connecticut, South Carolina, Florida and Quebec.

    For an extensive explanation of the key issues currently facing the spirits industry, please see our brochure on it, Spirits Industry Under Fire: What You Need to Know About Class Action Litigation.

    Find Professionals

    Find News, Events, Notable Matters and More
    SEARCH

    Showing Results for

    06e097cb-c375-4779-a7a5-f7bb42489541

    Disclaimer

    Please understand that your communications with Locke Lord LLP through this website do not constitute or create an attorney-client relationship with Locke Lord LLP. Any information you send to Locke Lord LLP through this website is on a non-confidential and non-privileged basis. Therefore, do not send or include any information in your email that you consider to be confidential or privileged.