Mayor Eric L. Johnson

Mayor Eric Johnson


Dallas Mayor Eric Johnson is a Partner in Locke Lord’s nationally recognized Public Finance Practice Group. In June 2019, he became only the second African American to be elected Mayor of Dallas, Texas. Mayor Johnson represented the City of Dallas in the Texas House of Representatives from 2010 to 2019, where he served on a remarkable 20 legislative committees, and he was elected by his House colleagues to serve as the Chairman of the Dallas delegation to the Texas Legislature from 2017-2019.

Throughout his legal career, Mayor Johnson has developed extensive experience representing major issuers of municipal securities as well as national and regional investment banking firms that underwrite municipal securities.

  • Executive Education Certificate, Harvard Kennedy School Senior Executives in State & Local Government, 2018
    Awarded Cahn Public Service Fellowship
  • Master of Public Affairs, International Relations, Princeton University School of Public & International Affairs, 2003
    Awarded Public Policy and International Affairs Scholar
  • J.D., University of Pennsylvania Law School, 2003
    Associate Editor, Journal of International Law
    Awarded Public Service Scholarship based on public service record
  • A.B., History, cum laude, Harvard University, 1998
Bar Admissions
  • Texas
Professional Affiliations
    • Member, Council on Foreign Relations
    • Member, The Dallas Assembly
    • Member, North Texas Chapter, National Association of Corporate Directors
    • Member, Pepperdine University Board of Regents
    • Board Member, Dallas Fort Worth International Airport
    • Vice Chair for Aviation, United States Conference of Mayors Transportation and Communications Standing Committee


Awards & Recognitions
    • Cleophas R. Steele Social Justice Award (2018)
    • National Association of Social Workers – Dallas Chapter “Public Elected Official of the Year” Award (2018)
    • Marshall Memorial Fellowship Recipient, German Marshall Fund of the United States (2016)
    • North Texas Crime Commission "Crime Fighter of the Year" (2014)
    • Dallas Business Journal “40 Under 40” Award (2014)
    • Rodel Fellowship in Public Leadership Recipient, The Aspen Institute (2013)
    • Dallas Regional Chamber “Courage in Public Service” Award (2011)
    • Texas Junior Chamber of Commerce “Five Outstanding Young Texans” Award (2011)
    • Public Policy and International Affairs Fellowship Program Achievement Award (2011)
    • Dallas Junior Chamber of Commerce “Five Outstanding Young Dallasites” Award (2007)
Community Leadership
    • Dallas Past Regional Chairman, Princeton Prize in Race Relations
Professional History
    • Mayor of Dallas, Texas (June 2019-Present)
    • State Representative, Texas House of Representatives, Dallas (April 2010-June 2019)
    • Of Counsel, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP, Dallas (February 2018-June 2019)
    • Of Counsel, Andrews Kurth Kenyon LLP, Dallas (September 2013-February 2018)