Overview

洛克在世界各地为各个企业、机构和个人解决知识产权方面的问题。洛克目前拥有的知识产权执业律师和代理人超过125位,他们中很多人已在美国专利及商标局(USPTO)注册登记执业,并具有理工科的本科与研究生学位。卓越的知识深度和广度及丰富的经验和教育背景使我们能够在美国各州和联邦法院及国际贸易委员会(ITC)进行的知识产权诉讼和程序中代理客户,在整个知识产权生命周期中对客户进行指导,包括专利和商标的申请准备、全球注册与交易咨询。凭藉遍布全球的资源,包括在各大科技和工业中心,如亚特兰大、奥斯丁、波士顿、芝加哥、达拉斯、休斯顿、伊斯坦布尔、伦敦、洛杉矶、纽约、旧金山、南弗罗里达、东京、华盛顿特区设立的办事处,我们以帮助客户管理其全球知识产权组合,使其获得最大的商业影响力为目标。

洛克的知识产权业务组及其执业经验包括:

  • 在美国境内提供申请准备、申请、咨询服务并在世界各地提供全球申请策略协调服务。
  • 在代表客户处理在美国专利审理暨上诉委员会提起的核准后重审程序,包括多方复审和商业方法专利复审程序方面经验丰富的律师。
  • 在诉讼最为集中的地区(德克萨斯州东区、特拉华地区、加利福尼亚北区、加利福尼亚中区及加利福尼亚南区)进行专利诉讼的经验。
  • 部分美国国内处理涉及各种药品的《哈奇-维克斯曼法案》专利侵权诉讼案的最佳和最 有经验的律师。
  • 依据国际贸易委员会(ITC)第337条款进行不正当竞争调查的丰富经验。
  • 代表上诉人和被上诉人在美国联邦巡回上诉法院成功上诉和答辩的成绩斐然。
  • 知识产权替代争议解决能力突出,包括仲裁和调解。
从初创型新兴企业到主要跨国公司和领先教育机构,洛克的知识产权客户涵盖生物科技、消费类产品、电子、能源、娱乐、金融与银行业、特许经营、烃加工、制造、媒体与传播、医疗器械、商品销售、制药、专用化学品与化学品加工、专业服务、软件、电讯及运输行业。

我们的知识产权律师曾入选《美国最佳律师》、《钱伯斯全球》、《钱伯斯美国》、《知识财产管理》(“IAM全球专利1000强”)、《美国新闻》、《世界商标评论1000》、《知识产权法名人录》及《超级律师》。

专利申请与专利诉讼
凭藉拥有70多位在美国专利及商标局(USPTO)注册登记执业的律师,洛克律师因其在科学和技术领域进行一线专利申请和成功取得专利权而闻名。无论通过许可协议或诉讼来执行专利权或对专利权进行抗辩,我们都着眼于更大的目标-提升我们客户的能力以促进其资本发展和业务增长。

我们的律师和专业人员具有各个技术领域的学位,不少具有行业经验,能够及时、全面管理每位客户的专利组合。我们能够快速抓住技术问题,并协助客户开发和维持其知识产权。

我们也通过提供管理服务,包括知识产权战略计划和相关咨询,帮助客户维持与其业务需求在战略上相关的-且有成本效益的-全球专利组合。

凭藉在最活跃的诉讼地进行专利侵权诉讼及参与专利侵权诉讼庭审的经验,我们能够在需要进行专利诉讼时为客户提供优质、高效的服务,保护客户的利益。我们的律师经常出席执行专利权或对专利权进行抗辩程序中就临时禁令、实体动议程序与审理而召开的庭审。

商标与商标诉讼
公众认知通常为一个公司最有价值的财产,我们拥有经验丰富的律师团队,致力于开发和保护所有行业中各个公司使用的各种形式的广告用语、形象、品牌和广告。

我们的律师与客户合作,不仅保护客户的品牌,还为客户提供最好的知识产权管理和最大化的服务。凭藉律所提供全球性和全方面服务的能力的支持,我们的团队能够为客户提供知识产权复杂问题的法律意见。

在需要进行诉讼时,我们将毫不吝啬我们在《拉纳姆法》和各州法律下进行的涉及商标、商业外观、不正当竞争以及版权侵权、淡化、许可和所有权的诉讼和庭审实践中的丰富经验。因我们的律师为对抗侵权、不实广告和保全重要证据而寻求临时限制令和临时禁令或对该等临时限制令和临时禁令进行抗辩,我们经常出席全美领域众多州和联邦法院的庭审。

版权
各类媒体、艺术、演出和软件的数字化与即时内容分享的能力完全改变了受版权保护作品面临的风险。公司、个人作者和创作者需要知晓他们的权利,了解在当今的“复制与粘贴”文化中如何执行上述权利和建立有效策略。

版权法不断发展以便于适应和处理该等事宜。洛克版权律师与媒体、广告、传播、出版、产品设计、音乐、娱乐、教育、游戏、博物馆和软件等各行业中的客户合作,以确保他们能够发掘工作中全部潜能。从获得美国版权局的版权登记到许可事宜和侵权调查,到提起所有权、正当使用和艺术家权利的诉讼,我们具有深厚的知识和丰富的经验,赢得了客户的信赖。

商业秘密
我们的客户包括制造加工、客户数据库、设备设计和金融交易方面商业秘密索赔案中的原告和被告。我们尤其擅长主张适用“不可避免披露”原则和处理涉及“转移”指控的商业侵权案件。我们也为非法灰市交易指控提供咨询服务,该等指控通常包括与州法下不公平竞争索赔有关的商标和版权指控。

不正当竞争
洛克律师擅长针对侵权、威胁和不正当竞争品牌提起和进行异议和撤销程序。我们经常在美国(各州和联邦层面)、英国和欧洲其他国家进行侵权和不正当竞争诉讼。需要时,我们也就互联网上的品牌滥用行为提起法院程序和争议解决程序。上述程序主要意图对那些灰市服装、体育用品和相关品牌产品泛滥的国家造成影响。

域名
我们的律师经常协助客户处理域名选择和保护、线上商标滥用、电商和其他直接营销的隐私政策和事宜。

我们也在互联网域名法方面具有丰富的经验。我们的律师在50多个域名所有权纠纷中依据互联网名称与数字地址分配机构(ICANN)统一域名争议解决政策(UDRP)向位于瑞士日内瓦的世界知识产权组织(WIPO)代理客户提起仲裁、进行抗辩或担任协调人。

我们代表客户处理过涉及域名的《反抢注消费者保护法》下的法院诉讼。成果包括代表客户处理《反抢注消费者保护法》下的“对物”诉讼,在该等诉讼中,诉讼是针对域名本身的,因为域名的持有人居住在国外,不受美国法律下属人管辖权的制约。

广告和社交媒体
在合规事宜方面,客户向洛克咨询影响印刷品广告与广播广告以及数字广告和营销的新兴和演变形式的各项法律和法规下的法律意见。我们为客户提供从消费类产品和在线拍卖公司到包括互联网和手机设备社交媒体广告、美国联邦贸易委员会(FTC)指南、绿色广告、网络骚扰、关键字广告和其他领域在内的各个领域中的广告代理商和交友服务方面的咨询服务。

Overview

Businesses, institutions and individuals count on Locke Lord for their intellectual property matters around the world. Locke Lord currently has over 100 lawyers and agents that practice in the area of intellectual property, many of whom are registered to practice before the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), and have undergraduate and graduate degrees in science and engineering disciplines. Our unique depth and breadth of knowledge, experience and education help guide clients throughout the IP lifecycle, including patent and trademark preparation, global registration and transactional counseling, through representation in IP litigation and proceedings in the state and federal courts, and the International Trade Commission (ITC). With resources around the world, including offices in technology and industry centers such as Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Cincinnati, Dallas, Houston, London, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, South Florida and Washington, D.C., our goal is to help clients manage their global IP portfolio for maximum business impact.

Locke Lord’s IP practice includes:

  • Preparation, prosecution and opinion work in the United States and coordination of global prosecution strategy worldwide
  • Experienced lawyers in representing clients in post grant review proceedings before the Patent Trial Appeal Board, including Inter Partes Review and Covered Business Method proceedings
  • Patent litigation experience in the most popular venues for litigation (Eastern District of Texas, District of Delaware, Northern District of California, Central District of California and Southern District of California)
  • Some of the most skilled and experienced practitioners in the country with respect to Hatch-Waxman patent infringement litigation involving various pharmaceuticals
  • Extensive experience with ITC Section 337 unfair competition investigations
  • A strong track record representing appellants and appellees before the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
  • IP Alternative Dispute Resolution capabilities including arbitrations and mediations

From entrepreneurial start-ups to major multinational corporations and leading educational institutions, Locke Lord’s IP clients extend across the biotechnology, consumer products, electronics, energy, entertainment, finance and banking, franchising, hydrocarbon processing, manufacturing, media and broadcasting, medical devices, merchandizing, pharmaceutical, specialty chemicals and chemical processing, professional services, software, telecommunications and transportation industries.

A selection of our IP lawyers is recognized in The Best Lawyers in America, Chambers Global, Chambers USA, Intellectual Asset Management (IAM 1000), U.S. News, World Trademark Review 1000, Who’s Who in IP Law and Super Lawyers.

Patent Strategies

With more than 70 practitioners registered with the USPTO, Locke Lord lawyers are known for prosecuting patent applications and obtaining patents on the forefront of science and technology. Whether we are enforcing or defending against patent rights through licensing agreements or litigation, we look at the bigger picture – heightening our client’s ability to foster capital and grow their business.

Our lawyers and professionals have degrees in various technical fields, and many have industry experience that complements our ability to manage each client’s patent portfolio in a timely and comprehensive manner. We quickly grasp the technical issues and assist our clients with the development and maintenance of their intellectual property.

We also help our clients maintain global patent portfolios that are strategically aligned with their business needs – and cost effective – by providing management services including strategic IP planning and related counseling.

Our experience in litigating and trying patent infringement litigations in the most active venues enables us to provide excellent and efficient representation of our clients’ interests when patent litigation becomes necessary. Our lawyers regularly appear in court at preliminary injunction, substantive motion practice and trials in enforcing or defending against patent rights.

Trademark and Trademark Litigation

As public perception is often a company’s most valuable asset, we have an experienced team of lawyers dedicated to developing and protecting the messaging, images, brands and advertising utilized by companies of all industries and in every medium.

Our lawyers partner with clients not only to protect their brands, but also to best manage and maximize their intellectual property. Our team provides clients the benefit of sophisticated IP advice backed by the power of a global, full-service firm.

When litigation becomes necessary, we bring our extensive experience in litigation and trial of actions under the Lanham Act and state laws involving trademark, trade dress unfair competition and copyright infringement, dilution, licensing and ownership. We regularly appear in many state and federal courts throughout the United States, as our lawyers seek and defend against temporary restraining orders and preliminary injunctions against infringement, false advertising and to preserve key evidence.

Copyright

Digitization and the ability to instantly share content in various media, art, performances and software has radically changed the risks surrounding protection of copyrighted material. Companies, individual authors and creators need to know their rights, understand how they can be enforced and create effective policies in today’s “copy and paste” culture.

Copyright law is constantly evolving to adapt and address these issues. Locke Lord’s dedicated copyright lawyers partner with clients in industries as diverse as media, advertising, broadcasting, publishing, product design, music, entertainment, education, gaming, museums and software, to ensure that they are realizing the full potential of their work. From obtaining registrations with the Copyright office, to licensing issues and infringement investigations, to litigating ownership, fair use and artists’ rights, we have the knowledge and experience clients trust.

Trade Secret

Our clients include both plaintiffs and defendants in trade secret claims involving manufacturing processes, customer databases, equipment design and financial transactions. We have particular skill in the application of the “inevitable disclosure” doctrine and in business tort cases involving allegations of “diversion.” We also counsel on alleged unlawful grey-market transactions that often include trademark and copyright allegations in connection with state law unfair competition claims.

Unfair Competition

Locke Lord lawyers are skilled at initiating and conducting opposition and cancellation actions against infringing, threatening and unfairly competing brands. We regularly conduct infringement and unfair competition litigation in the United States (at the state and federal levels), in the United Kingdom and in other courts in Europe. When appropriate, we also bring court actions and dispute resolution proceedings regarding misuse of brands on the Internet. This is particularly relevant to those brands that are poised to make an impact in countries where grey-market clothing, sporting goods and associated brand products are prevalent.

Domain Names

Our lawyers regularly assist clients with domain name selection and protection, online trademark misuse, electronic and other direct marketing privacy policies and issues.

We also are experienced in Internet domain name law. Our lawyers have represented clients prosecuting, defending or acting as a mediator in ownership disputes of over 50 domain names under the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) Uniform Domain Name Resolution Policy (UDRP) in arbitrations before the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) in Geneva, Switzerland.

We have represented clients in court actions under the U.S. Anti-Cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act involving domain names. Our accomplishments include representing clients in “in rem” actions under the U.S. Anti-Cybersquatting Consumer Protection Act, where suit is brought against the domain name itself because the holder of the domain name is domiciled in a foreign country that is not subject to personal jurisdiction under U.S. law.

Advertising and Social Media

On compliance issues, clients turn to Locke Lord for advice on a wide range of laws and regulations affecting print and broadcast advertising, as well as emerging and evolving forms of digital advertising and marketing. We counsel clients from consumer products and online auction companies to advertising agencies and dating services in areas including Internet and mobile device social media advertising, Federal Trade Commission (FTC) guidelines, green advertising, cyber-stalking, keyword advertising and others.